Baltic Countries Join the Nordic Initiative To Prevent Russian And Belarusian Athletes From Returning To International Competitions


The Lithuanian, Latvian and Estonian Olympic and Paralympic Committees and unions of sports federations have joined the Nordic countries in calling for the continued exclusion of Russian and Belarusian athletes from international competitions.

“We support the statement of our colleagues from the Nordic countries  calling for the continued exclusion of Russian and Belarusian athletes and officials from international sports competitions.

Ukrainian athletes fight against Russian aggression, often at the risk of their lives. This struggle prevents them from training and competing normally.

We believe that it is unacceptable to allow athletes and officials from the aggressor country to return to the international sports arena, while Ukrainians do not have this opportunity. To do otherwise would be tantamount to ignoring the basic principles of fair play in sport,” the statement reads.

The document was signed by the President of the National Olympic Committee of Lithuania (LNOC) Daina Gudzinevičiūtė, President of the Lithuanian Paralympic Committee Mindaugas Bilius, President of the Lithuanian Sports Federations Union Darius Šaluga, President of the Estonian National Olympic Committee Urmas Soorumaa, President of the Estonian Paralympic Committee Monika Haukanomm, President of the Latvian Olympic Committee Zorzs Tikmers, President of the Latvian Paralympic Committee Daiga Dadzite, and President of the Latvian Council of Sport Federations Einars Fogels.

The statement has been addressed to the International Olympic Committee, the European Olympic Committees, the Association of National Olympic Committees and the International Paralympic Committee.


© 2018 LTOK, LTeam.
Svajonių įgyvendinimas: IT DREAMS